bioloom group Logo

bioloom group – Useful Links

  • General Bionics

    The Bionik-Kompetenz-Netz is a network of German bionics centers and bionics initiatives.

  • Translation Automation / Machine Translation

    EAMT is the European organization for all aspects of Machine Translation. Its counterpart for North and South America is hosted in the U.S.A (AMTA), and the Asian counterpart is currently hosted in Korea (AAMT). These three organizations are jointly associated in the IAMT.

    Within TAUS (Translation Automation User Society) different user groups are organized that deploy translation automation in large, medium and small enterprises. In addition, TAUS has set up the TAUS Data Association (TDA) for the mutual exchange of translation memory content and glossaries. Members of TDA are besides large companies such as Cisco, Dell, eBay, Microsoft, Oracle und Sun (meanwhile part of Oracle) also medium and small companies as well as Language Service Providers and Translation Agencies, and the Language Services of the European Commission and the European Parliament.

    With the employment of statistical methods in translation automation and the diffusion of web-scale translation services of, for example, Google and Microsoft that are based on these methods, Machine Translation again has become a major research theme of the European Commission. The open-source project Moses serves as an excellent information point on the methodology and the applications of Statistical Machine Translation (SMT).

  • Globalization, Internationalization, Localization and Translation (GILT)

    The oldest organization that deals with all GILT aspects in trade, industry and science is LISA (Localization Industry Standards Association), which, however, has closed its services in February 2011 after almost 20 years of operation.

    The LISA developed and maintained standards (LISA-OSCAR) for the content exchange of, for example, translation memories and term databases will be further maintained by the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) in close collaboration with GALA, which has also started a Standardization Intiative.

    The Localization Institute organizes conferences, seminars und congresses around GILT, e.g. the Localization World conference.

  • GILT Research and Future

    GILT research is conducted at the Localisation Research Center (LRC) of the University of Limerick in Ireland. In Dublin associated with Dublin City University (DCU) is the Centre for Next Generation Localisation (CNGL), which works in public-private collaborations on the next generation of the localization evolution.

  • Language Technology, Language Proofing and Language Governance

    For the German and English speaking areas there are two well-known companies Acrolinx GmbH in Berlin und IAI in Saarbrücken. Both companies belong to the leading institutions in the fields of language engineering and language technology. Acrolinx develops and markets the IQ Suite (Information Quality) and IAI the software tool CLAT (Controlled Language Authoring Technology). Meanwhile CLAT is the language technology engine of the joint venture company Congree GmbH of IAI and Across Systems in Karlsbad.

    Language Goverance is a quite new branch in the field of proofing and controlling language guidelines and rules, which is based on combining semantic technologies and natural language processing techniques. The deployment areas arrange from modelling and management of business processes to the forensic analytics of translingual communications content.



Additional links to interesting themes of the information and knowledge evolution and approbriate Web sites will follow continuously on this web page. A bookmark on our web page will keep you up to date.




Diese bioloom Seite auf Deutsch.

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 bioloom group.
All rights reserved.

bioloom group Logo

bioloom group – Nützliche Links

  • Bionik allgemein

    Das Bionik-Kompetenz-Netz ist ein Netzwerk von deutschen Bionik-Zentren und Bionik-Initiativen.

  • Automatische Übersetzung / Maschinelle Übersetzung

    EAMT ist die europäische Vereinigung für alle Aspekte der Maschinellen Übersetzung. Weitere Organizationen existieren für den nord- und südamerikanischen Raum (AMTA) sowie den asiatischen Raum (AAMT) und sind in der IAMT zusammengeschlossen.

    In TAUS (Translation Automation User Society) haben sich verschiedene Benutzergruppen organisiert, die automatische Übersetzung in großen und kleinen Firmen einsetzen. Zusätzlich hat TAUS eine Initiative zum gegenseitigen Austausch von Übersetzungsgedächtnissen (Translation Memory) und Glossaren ins Leben gerufen, die TDA - TAUS Data Association. Mitglieder der TDA sind neben großen Firmen wie beispielsweise Cisco, Dell, eBay, Microsoft, Oracle und Sun (mittlerweile Teil von Oracle) auch mittlere und kleine Firmen sowie Übersetzungs- und Sprachdienstleister und der Übersetzungsdienst der Europäischen Kommission und des Europäischen Parlaments.

    Mit dem Einsatz von statistischen Methoden zur automatischen Übersetzung und der weiten Verbreitung von Online-Übersetzungsdiensten, die auf diesen Methoden fußen, von z.B. Google und Microsoft, ist maschinelle Übersetzung auch wieder Förderthema der Europäischen Kommission geworden. Das Opensource-Projekt Moses gibt Auskunft zur Methodik und Anwendung der statistischen maschinellen Übersetzung (SMT).

  • Globalisierung, Internationalisierung, Lokalisierung und Translation (GILT)

    Die älteste Organisation, die sich mit allen GILT-Aspekten in Handel, Industrie und Wissenschaft befasst, ist LISA (Localization Industry Standards Association), die allerdings im Februar 2011 nach fast 20 Jahren ihre Dienste eingestellt hat.

    Die von LISA entwickelten und verwalteten Standards (LISA-OSCAR) für den Inhaltaustausch von zum Beispiel Übersetzungsspeichern (translation memory) und Terminologiedatenbanken werden zukünftig vom European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) verwaltet in enger Kooperation mit GALA, die dazu auch eine Standardisierungsintiative gegründet hat.

    Das Localization Institute organisiert Konferenzen, Seminare und Tagungen zum Thema GILT, z.B. die Localization World.

  • GILT Forschung und Zukunft

    GILT-Forschung wird am Localisation Research Center (LRC) der Universität von Limerick betrieben. In Dublin, assoziiert zur Dublin City University (DCU), ist das Centre for Next Generation Localisation (CNGL), welches in public-private Initiativen an den nächsten Generationen der Lokalisierungsevolution arbeitet.

  • Sprachtechnologie, Sprachprüfung und Sprach-Goverance

    Für den deutsch- und englischsprachigen Raum sind insbesondere die Firmen Acrolinx GmbH in Berlin und das IAI in Saarbrücken zu nennen. Beide gehören zu den führenden Institutionen für Sprachtechnik und Sprachtechnologie. Acrolinx entwickelt und vermarktet die IQ Suite (Information Quality) und IAI das Werkzeug CLAT (Controlled Language Authoring Technology). Mittlerweile ist CLAT der sprachtechnologische Motor der als Joint-Venture zwischen IAI und Across Systems gegründeten Firma Congree GmbH in Karlsbad.

    Sprach-Goverance ist ein relativ neuer Zweig im Bereich der Prüfung und Kontrolle von Sprachvorgaben und Richtlinien, der auf der Kombination von semantischen Technologien und Verarbeitungstechniken für natürliche Sprache basiert. Die Einsatzbereiche reichen von der Modellierung und Verwaltung von Geschäftsprozessen bis hin zur forensischen Analyse von translingualen Kommunikationsinhalten.



Weitere Links zu interessanten Themen zur Informations- und Wissensevolution und den entsprechenden Web-Präsenzen folgen in regelmäßigen Abständen auf dieser Webseite. Ein Lesezeiche für unsere Webseite hält Sie also zukünftig auf dem Laufenden.




This bioloom page in English.

Copyright © 2001 - 2014 bioloom group.
All rights reserved.